Always Remember: 6/06/44

Today marks the 70th anniversary of D-Day.

I could sit here and type out a long blog post talking about the brave men that sacrificed so much for our freedom.  The words are all in my head of what I would like to say about them, but sadly, I cannot seem to be able to write them down just right. (If I try, I am afraid I may start getting to political and lash out at a couple of things, and that’s not what today is about.)

Therefore, I would like to show this.  This says just about everything you need to hear about today.  My mother always had us kids watch this video on this day, and when I was a much littler kid, I just thought “it’s a good speech”.  But now that I am older, I appreciate so much more.

People don’t talk that way anymore…

But it’s something we need to be reminded of, especially on this day.  That there was a time when most all the people in our country cared—and they cared all days, not just on ones that were declared holidays.

Okay, I’m about to start going! Let me leave you with one final thought.

(This is from a song that came out back in 2010 for “Modern day America.  I like the song very much, and this particular verse always stuck out to me.)  Here it is:

We’ve paid a price to be free

(Remember Who We Are)

With our blood sweat and tears

(Remember Who We Are)

Will our children be the ones asking us one day

Why we didn’t do enough Why we gave it all away  

[Chorus] We keep our faith when there is no way out

When there is little hope We show no doubt

We go the distance No matter how far

Remember Who We Are!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Always Remember: 6/06/44

  1. ForeverWrens

    Very good post. And yes, what a great speech…

    God Bless America!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

